Latest News & Events

    The Ray A. Peacock Foundation is a 501c (3) non-profit organization founded to honor the memory of Ray Anthony Peacock's outstanding academic achievement and community work. The Foundation solicits and distributes funds to graduating high school students who have demonstrated academic success, are committed to community service and are driven to furthering their education beyond high school in the state of Texas.    

    The Foundation recognizes not every student will choose to pursue the traditional college/ university path, yet every student must acquire marketable skills to support their opportunity to become positive, contributing members of society.  To this end, the Ray A. Peacock Foundation also accepts post high school, financial assistance applications to support certification programs and technical training.


    Our History


    The Ray A. Peacock Memorial Scholarship Fund was founded in Burkeville, Texas to honor the memory of Ray Anthony Peacock, an outstanding student of Burkeville High School, Class of 1977.   Ray was the first in his family to attend college, pursuing his dream at Lamar University in Beaumont, Texas.

    Ray’s life ended abruptly, senselessly on November 5,1977, when struck by a vehicle in what was believed a racially motivated hate crime. Ray’s family was able to overcome this great loss and redirect their grief to positively channel Ray’s dream of a college education. The Ray A. Peacock Foundation was founded to support those like Ray, in their pursuit of education and the opportunity for fulfilling lives.

    Early foundation funding was achieved through the efforts of Ray’s loving mother, Theresa Peacock. Theresa drew upon her skills as an accomplished seamstress and sold fine, lace handkerchiefs she’d created to fund the foundation’s first student. In1984, Cecil and Theresa Peacock presented the first Ray Anthony Peacock Memorial Scholarship at the Burkeville High School graduation ceremony.  Since formalizing the Ray A. Peacock Foundation, 35 students have received scholarships. The memory of Ray Anthony Peacock lives on in the students who achieve their dreams of academic excellence and pay it forward in their commitment to public service.

    In June 2001, The Ray Anthony Peacock Memorial Scholarship Fund was incorporated as a 501(c) (3).  In 2010, the Ray Anthony Peacock Memorial Scholarship Fund begin to operate under the DBA of The Ray A. Peacock Foundation.

    Board of Directors

    Board President Emeritus: 
    Theresa Peacock

    Venetia L. Peacock

    Vice President:
    Louise Strahan

    Brenda K. Sells


    Board Members:
    Bertha Bevil
    Gretta R. Williams
    Sharon K. McBride
    Niles Dillard
    Allen L. Dave Jr.